Skip to content

Sociology Professor Whitney Pirtle awarded the 2020 A. Wade Smith Award

October 20, 2020

Sociology Professor Whitney Pirtle has been awarded the 2020 A. Wade Smith award by the Association of Black Sociologists. Established in 1998, this award honors A. Wade Smith’s tireless work as an advocate for racial justice and rising scholars in the field. Pirtle, who was nominated by her students, was recognized for excellence in teaching, mentorship and service to the study of sociology.